Top 10 NFL Wide Receivers of all time

In general, we can admit that most of the brilliant wide receivers appeared after the eighties of the last century. However, there are some legends that the history remembers since the early ages of the 1930s when American football had just started attracting people's attention. Below we will list some of the phenomena in the NFL

10. Reggie Wayne 

Wayne is a significant player for the Indianapolis Colts, who spent his whole 14-year-old career with the same team. His 93 playoff receptions won him second place after Jerry Rice in the record's list. He participated in 211 games and has a total of 14,345 yards between 2001 and 2014. He was awarded as a Super Bowl Champion and an NFL receiving yards leader in 2007. 

9. Steve Smith Sr. 

Since 1966, Smith is one of the three players to earn receiving’s triple crown. He spent 16 seasons on the pitch. His professional career began with the Carolina Panthers and ended after he played three years with the Baltimore Ravens. The year 2005 was at its peak for him as he received numerous awards, such as:

  • NFL receiving touchdowns leader
  • NFL Comeback Player of the Year
  • First-team All-Pro
  • Pro Bowl (also four more times in 2001, 2006, 2008 and 2011)
  • NFL receptions leader

He has 14,731 receiving yards and 4,055 return yards. His receiving touchdowns are 81, and his return touchdowns are 6. Because of his indisputable abilities, Steve Smith Sr. deserved his special place at the Carolina Panthers Hall of Honor.

8. Andre Johnson 

Johnson is famous for his record in his first eight seasons. He is the only player to score more than sixty receptions for such a short time. Andre changed three teams but most of his career he played with the Houston Texans (2003-2014). The other teams that were lucky enough to have him are the Indianapolis Colts and the Tennessee Titans. Some of his career highlights are the following: 

  • He was awarded seven times as a Pro Bowl
  • Twice as an NFL receptions leader
  • Twice as NFL receiving yards leader
  • He is cherished by the Houston Texans Ring of Honor and the Texas Sports Hall of Fame

7. Isaac Bruce 

Bruce is a four-time Pro Bowler, and he got the award Super Bowl champion in 1999. During his career, he totaled 15,208 receiving yards, which won him the fifth place in the history of the NFL. Another important thing we need to mention is that he is a real contributor to the Rams franchise. He achieved 1,000-yard campaigns eight times for fourteen years.

6. Steve Wargent 

The Seattle Seahawks legend Steve Largent is an excellent name in the NFL industry. Similar to Isaac Bruce, he notched eight straight 1,000-yard years. Another huge success is the fact that the NFL receiving was led by him twice. He was promoted as Walter Payton Man of the Year in 1988. What is more, seven Pro Bowl teams were lucky enough to have him. 

The record books have a special section in the name of Steve Wargent, due to his 100 touchdowns, 13,089 yards, and 819 catches. He was the idol of many young players and fans during the eighties and nineties.

5. James Lofton 

The Green Bay Packers were the first team to promote Lofton. During that time, he had no fewer than 50 yards per each match for the whole nine seasons. Four other teams followed during the years. The most popular ones among them are Buffalo Bills the Raiders. At that time his 14,004 career yards were considered as a record. Lofton has 75 touchdowns and 764 receiving yards.

4. Larry Fitzgerald 

Larry Fitzgerald also received the award Walter Payton Man of the Year, but much more recently than Lofton – in 2016. He is famous for his nickname “Larry Legend” because of his exceptional performance between the white lines. He spent all his sports days with the Arizona Cardinals. 

Since 2018, he has had 1,234 catches for 15,545 yards and 110 scores, which is an apparent reason why he is called a legend. His name is written in the NFL's all-time lists. Sadly, due to an injury, his career came to an end. After ten years of his retirement, he'll be a member of the Hall of Fame together with the other NFL celebrities. 

3. Terrell Owens 

Owens spent most of his years with the 49ers, but he also proved himself on the pitch with the Philadelphia Eagles, Cincinnati Bengals, and CowboysBills. The football machine, Owens, had more than 1,000 yards for consecutive nine seasons and 10-plus touchdowns for eight seasons.

His total numbers are 1,078 receptions, 15,934 yards, and 153 touchdowns. Terrell deserved his six Pro Bowl nods and five All-Pro honors, together with his place in the Hall of Fame in 2018.

2. Randy Moss 

According to many athletes, Randy Moss is the most gifted receiver in the NFL. He is swift, and he leaps like a lion, he owns strength, stamina, and endurance almost like no one else in the history of American football.

Just a few steps back from Jerry Rice, Moss is proud to have notched ten seasons of 1,000-plus yards. The Offensive Rookie of the Year in 1998 was one of the times we refer to it. The other six happened in Minnesota; three are recorded in the history of the Patriots and one with Oakland. During his career, he was a Pro Bowler six times and four-time All-Pro ranks second in touchdowns. In receiving yards, 15,292, he was fourth.

1. Jerry Rice 

Rice is the master without any doubts. He beat all the old receiving records in history, scoring 197 touchdowns and performing 1,549 catches for 22,895 yards. In 1994, he earned the touchdowns record, and he shared with the media how pressure felt off his body. It is needless to mention he is a member of the Hall of Fame because of his three Super Bowls, 13 Pro Bowls, ten first-team All-Pro, Player of the Year and many other prizes.