For a casual fan, a typical offensive lineman is nothing but a faceless brute who crashes into the wall of humans. However, the old school fans enjoy exactly that beastly part of American football, where power and time efficiency are needed for the win.

The best offensive lineman must combine quick footwork, size, and technique to dominate on the field.

10. Dan Dierdorf

Daniel Lee Dierdorf played as an offensive tackle for the St. Louis Cardinals for 13 seasons from 1971 to 1983. During his time in the NFL, he was an incredible player. He was reliable and fast.

Dierdorf started his career as a left tackle and guard and moved to the right tackle in 1974. He also played as a center in 1982 and in his final year, 1983 Dierdorf became a back-up. For three consecutive years from 1976 to 1978, Dan Dierdorf was named Offensive Lineman of the Year. He played six times in the Pro Bowl and was elected five times as a First-team All-Pro.

In 1996 Dan Dierdorf became a member of the Pro Hall Football Hall of Fame.

9. Art Shell

Arthur Lee Shell Jr. was one of the premier offensive linemen in the NFL and a two-time head coach of the Oakland Raiders.  On the field, Shell teamed up well with Gene Upshaw, and they both formed a destructive left side of the line for the Raiders.

During his 15 seasons in the NFL, Art Shell was elected to eight Pro Bowls and two First-Team All-Pro lineups. He won two Super Bowls with the Raiders. In 1989 Shell was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

8. Randall McDaniel

Randall Cornell McDaniel was an offensive guard who played for the Minnesota Vikings and Tampa Bay Buccaneers between 1988 and 2001. He was a member of the NFL's 1990s All-Decade Team and was elected for 12 Pro Bows and 9 All-pro squads. During his 14 seasons with the Vikings and the Buccaneers, Randall McDaniel blocked for six separate 1000-yard rushers and five 3000-yard passers.

7. Larry Allen

Larry Allen played in the NFL for fourteen seasons. He was one of the strongest men ever in the league.  In college, he played football at Sonoma State University. In 1994 Allen was drafted by the Dallas Cowboys. He spent his final two seasons as a member of the San Francisco 49ers. Larry Allen was 11-times Pro Bowl selection and was named 7-times All-Pro. He helped the Cowboys to win the Super Bowl XXX over the Pittsburg Steelers. In 2003 Allen was elected for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

6. Jonathan Ogden

Jonathan Phillip Ogden spent his entire career as an offensive tackle for the Baltimore Ravens. Before his NFL draft, he played college football for the University of California, Los Angeles.

In 2001, Ogden won the Super Bowl with the Ravens. Until his retirement in 2007, he was elected for 11 straight Pro Bowls. Jonathan Ogden also became a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame and the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

5. Mike Webster

Mike Webster, also known as “Iron Mike,” played as a center in the NFL from 1974 to 1990. He was a member of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Kansas City Chiefs.

With his offensive line abilities, Webster helped the Steelers to win four Super Bowls from 1974 to 1979. He was the greatest center of all time. During his career with the Steelers, “Iron Mike” was elected to nine Pro Bowls. He was also a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Michael Lewis Webster died in 2002 of a Chronic traumatic encephalopathy. He became a symbol of head injuries in the NFL and all the debates about player safety.

4. Bruce Matthews

Bruce Matthew was one of the most flexible offensive linemen in NFL history. As part of the Houston/Tennessee Oilers/Titans franchise, he played every position on the offensive line. Matthew’s specialty was to dominate on the field as a center and guard.

He played in 17 games as a left tackle, 22 as a right tackle, 67 as a right guard, 87 as a center, and 99 games as a left guard. With a total of 293 NFL games, Matthews was the second player with that many starts, right after Brett Favre (298 career starts).

3. Forrest Gregg

Alvis Forrest Gregg was an iconic NFL player and coach. He was also part of the CFL and the NCAA. The Pro Football Hall of Fame offensive lineman played in the NFL for sixteen seasons as a member of the Green Bay Packers and the Dallas Cowboys. Between 1956 and 1971, Gregg participated in 188 straight games, which for an offensive lineman is not an easy job to accomplish.

He played in six NFL championships, and five of them were with the Green Bay Packers. Shortly before he retired, Gregg helped his other team, the Dallas Cowboys, to win Super Bowl VI.

Later, Forrest Gregg was a coach of the Cleveland Browns, the Cincinnati Bengals, and the Packers.

2. John Hannah

John Allen Hannah, also known as “The Hog,” was a New England Patriots' offensive guard. He was ranked as the second greatest offensive lineman after Anthony Munoz.

In college, Hannah played guard and tackle for the University of Alabama. He was speedy, and he had a perfect technique. In 1978, Hannah set a record with The Patriots by leading the rushing attack with 3165 yards in a single NFL season.

Between 1976 and 1985, John Hannah was elected to nine Pro Bowls, but his most impressive award was a lead guard on the NFL's 75th Anniversary All-Time Team.

1. Anthony Munoz

Michael Anthony Munoz was well known as one of the best offensive linemen of all time. He played 13 seasons for the Cincinnati Bengals and just one season for the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, where he decided to retire.

Munoz had everything needed for his position – strength, athleticism, size, and a great technique on the field. He was capable of blocking everyone, even the best defensive ends, and outside linebackers.  Before the Bengals drafted him, Munoz played college football at the University of Southern California.

During his career in NFL, he was awarded 11 times as an All-Pro. In 1998, Munoz was elected into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.